Pre-Top Surgery Prep!

So I know that my date for top surgery is a while away yet (133 days or 4 months and 11 days to be precise!) but I want to get my body into the best shape possible prior to surgery. This means changing a few things!

First of all, I’ve decided to give up alcohol completely between now and then. Some might think that this is a bit extreme, but the reality is that when I drink, it leads to other types of bad behaviour that I want to avoid, so the best thing is just to stop drinking altogether. I also need to stop smoking. I don’t smoke cigarettes, I smoke the funny stuff, and it’s not doing anything good for my body or my mental health (or my ability to motivate myself) so that has to go too. I already eat quite a healthy diet, so I’m going to continue on that path – eating a vegetarian wholefood diet. I rarely eat processed food, so I’m going to try to cut out all processed food between now and then (with the exception of chocolate – I can’t give that up!). I’m also going to start working out every day. I’ve been lacking motivation lately due to constantly injuring myself. I cycle everywhere anyways, but I want to get my upper body as strong as possible, as I won’t be able to do any of that for a while after surgery, and muscle wastes so quickly when it’s unused. I’m majorly skint at the moment, but next week I’m going to join the gym again and start working out more regularly and build it up to daily workouts.

In addition to these physical changes, I’m going to start meditating daily again. The purpose of this is to get my head into the best place possible before surgery, as I believe that the body is a single unit and the state of the mind can negatively or positively affect the body, so a calm mind ideally equals to a prepared body. I’m also going to try and get back into a proper sleep pattern again. I’m a terrible insomniac but I think if I make myself get up at a regular time each day it will eventually force me to sleep properly at night. Regular sleep is crucial to muscle recovery therefore my logic goes that regular sleep will help prepare my body to recover properly from surgery.

I’m aware that all this is a lot to ask of myself, so I’m starting with meditation and sleep pattern, then exercise. I downloaded a “Quit That!” app for my phone to motivate me to stay off the booze and smokes and my general obsession with food ensures that I’ll always eat healthily (if you want to see what I cook, check out my instagram @tirnanogender).

I am INSANELY excited about chopping off these tits that were never mine – literally ecstatic about it – so apologies if many of my posts over the next few months obsess on this topic. I’ve added a countdown timer until surgery, that’s how excited I am. All I need now is to get on testosterone and I’m SORTED! More on that soon 🙂

This entry was posted in Non-Binary Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pre-Top Surgery Prep!

  1. Jamie Ray says:

    It is very exciting to know that your surgery is coming up – it is really hard to focus on anything else. You are taking on a lot – all of it very beneficial – but trust that you could go in for top surgery tomorrow – just the way you are – and come out fine, take 6 weeks off from working out, and start back up slowly and be back in tip top shape 6 weeks later.
    I did a lot of gym stuff before hand, but didn’t do any meditating or other bodywork – and I think it probably would have been a good thing to do to help me calm down and feel more comfortable/centered in my body. I’m still trying to get myself to a queer yoga class….

    Liked by 1 person

    • Naomhán says:

      Ah, queer yoga, that sounds amazing!!!! Out of interest, how soon did you start getting back into working out, and what did you start with? I really don’t want to be inactive for too long, but my main workout is aerial circus, which is rope climbing etc which might be too hardcore to start with. Any tips?! 😀 x

      Like

      • Jamie Ray says:

        I took off 6 weeks. When I started back I felt pretty good, and I started doing easy sets at about 50% to 66% of my regular weight lifting. I usually do barbell chest presses, dumbbell shoulder presses, lateral pull downs, tricep extensions, and dumbbell bicep curls. I also do some stuff with Kettlebells (swings and lifts).
        The first two weeks I just did easy sets for form. Then I increased the number of reps, and sets. Then over about 6 weeks I gradually increased the weight back up to where I was before I had surgery. The first week I felt tight in the chest, but then I got used to it.
        The first time back at the gym I had a problem “finding” my pecs – I had to practice at home in front of the mirror to flex them or contract them – it was like I didn’t have muscle memory for the contraction. I got it back easily, but it was a little freaky the first time I tried to lift with chest muscles – it was all triceps.
        Overall I found it very easy to get back in shape – no worse than when I’ve stopped lifting for 2 or 3 months and then gone back. You’ll be fine. And it feels great to do push ups without wearing a bra or binder.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Gemma says:

    I have nominated you for some blog awards x

    Like

  3. Naomhán says:

    ACE! I’m so happy to hear this!!!!!!! Thank YOU!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

