Going Name Change CRAZY

TENI newsToday there was some brilliant news – the Irish Gender Recognition Bill is now in effect. Here’s the news from the Transgender Equality Network of Ireland (TENI).

However, this news forces me into a conundrum. Do I change my documents now, and if so, do I declare myself Male for the sake of having a better matching gender identity to Female, or do I wait until the Irish government recognises non-binary gender, and thus an X gender marker?

I cannot STAND seeing my old name on my documents, and I want to get it changed once and for all. I also hate seeing F on my documents. But will seeing M be any better?

I have three options:

  • Change my name and leave the gender marker as F.
  • Change my name and change my gender marker to M.
  • Don’t change my name until the gender marker X is available.

Each time I think about this, my head gets really overloaded and I have to think about something else. I’ve asked for some advice from TENI and from LGBT Noise, another trans-positive group in Ireland that has been campaigning for non-binary recognition, and I’m hoping that there will be some advice forthcoming. Or not. Perhaps no-one knows what to do at this point about non-binary gender. I know that there will be a review of the bill in 2 years time, but I can’t wait that long.

GAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HELP!

This entry was posted in Non-Binary Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Going Name Change CRAZY

  1. Jamie Ray says:

    I opted for name change first and kept the pesky F on my documents. This still allows me to go back and change my gender marker sometime in the future, but to be rid of my birth name forever.
    I also consider pronouns to be independent of legal gender; the only time my legal gender is problematic is in the US at an airport because of the gendered x-Ray searches. No problems in Europe or Mexico.

    Like

Leave a Reply

